top of page

Teens - <Insert Eye Roll>

Okay, I was a teenager, and YES, I did know it ALL. I knew better than my parents and teachers. I didn't need anyone to tell me HOW or WHEN or even WHY about anything. I already knew it all.


<Insert eye roll>


Yes, I realize that now that I am a parent of teenagers . . . I must therefore know NOTHING.


<Insert another eye roll . . .there will be LOTS of these>


So, where did all that knowledge I had 35 years ago go? Maybe the process of carrying a child inside of me caused partial brain death? Maybe it was the 38 hour labor to bring the first know-it-all into the world resulted in my brain cells getting shoved out of my ears with each push to bring a new, brilliant life into the world? Maybe I answered so many "Why, mommy" questions that my brain couldn't take it anymore and just imploded?


But, now, I'm dumb. I'm out of touch. I have no idea about anything.


Okay.


I COULD go on and inform you of all that I do KNOW, but that really doesn't matter. I know that I know it (or, yeah, I know that I also DON'T know it because no one knows everything, duh, <insert eye roll>).


I want my kids to listen to my advice. To learn from my words instead of from life smacking them in the face (or *ss). I WANT that, but, if I'm honest, and, yeah, here it goes, it didn't work that way with me.


I was a know it all. I rolled my eyes. I thought I could do and handle anything that came my way. I had the utter confidence of youth. Which is a wonderful and terrible thing to have, because, yeah, life slapped me around some. As much as I hope to have my own children avoid some life smacks, it's also, often times, the only way to learn.


So, I'll be here to kiss the boo-boos, pick them up when they get knocked down, wipe away the tears, because I love them.


But, I'll also say, "I told you so."


<INSERT EYE ROLL>




10 views0 comments
bottom of page